Overview
Gemini Notebook Glow users can now copy entire notebooks, including all associated sources and studio items, if they have copy permission for that notebook.
This capability allows Glow users to build upon existing work or templates shared by others. For example, a teacher can copy a notebook with foundational information and add on additional sources to tailor it to a specific project.
How can I do this?
- On your device, go to Gemini Notebook.
- Open a notebook that you have copy permissions for. This includes:
- Notebooks that you own.
- Private notebooks that allow copies and are shared with you.
- Publicly shared notebooks that allow copies.
- At the top, select Copy
Create.
- All Studio content & sources are copied.
- Chat history & notes are not copied.
- On your device, go to Gemini Notebook.
- Open a notebook.
- At the top, select Share.
- Share your notebook with at least one other person.
- Check or uncheck the box next to Allow copies.
- If you allow copies: Users you’ve shared the notebook with can duplicate the notebook, including its sources and artifacts.
- If you do not allow copies: Users you’ve shared the notebook with cannot duplicate the notebook itself. But they can still copy content in the notebook that they have access to.
- Select Save.

Please Note
- Sources: Drive-based sources are only included if the user performing the copy has permission to access and copy the original Google Drive file.
- Studio content: This includes studio artifacts like Audio Overviews, Video Overviews, Study Guides, Flashcards, Quizzes, and Slide Decks, plus artifact generation prompts and custom chat configurations.
Personal chat history and user-generated notes are not transferred to the new notebook. Additionally, a copied notebook does not sync with the original, so any subsequent updates made by the original owner do not overwrite the copied version.
Resources
- Google Help: Create a private copy of a notebook
- Google Help: Allow others to create a copy of your notebook

