Google Meet for Learners

This page provides a step by step guide on how Google Meet should be used when learners are involved. Please refer to the main Google Meet page for full details of the service.

How to set up and end a video meeting with learners

1. Only users with Staff accounts can initiate Meets. It is recommended that Meets with a learner involved should be created using a meeting nickname. This can be done directly from Google Meet and Meets created through Google Classroom will automatically be created with a nickname which will make up the Meet link shown in the Classroom. It is advised that Classroom is used when you want to have a video call with learners.

2. Nicknames give additional protection to Meets as they can only be used within the organisation and Meets with nicknames will automatically end as soon as the last person leaves. Further to this, a Classroom Meet will only start when a user with a Staff account joins. A Classroom Meet link is not the same as a normal Meet URL that will include the 10 digit join code, i.e. meet.google.com/xxx-xxxx-xxx

3. When a Meet is set up within a Classroom by adding it to the settings, there will be a Meet link generated and it can be displayed on the Classroom stream.

Example of a Classroom Meet link
Example of a Classroom Meet link

4. Using a Classroom Meet means that learners cannot join the Meet before it starts and the Meet will end when the last person leaves. This means that staff are in control as all learners can be removed before they leave the call.

5. To end a Meet, staff hosting should either make sure all attendees have left and then leave themselves or end the call for all. Attendees can also be muted collectively or individually.

6. When a Classroom Meet ends it will not start again until a member of staff next accesses it and starts the Meet. Learners will see the below message when trying to access through the Classroom link. The Meet link in the Classroom will then change so the previous one cannot be used and new Meets will not start again until someone with a Staff account has joined.

7. Meets created through Google Calendar or Google Meet have a join code or and associated URL, i.e. meet.google.com/xxx-xxxx-xxx. These types of Meets can be attended by people external to the organisation and attendees (including learners) could re-join without staff being present if these are not ended.

8. It is recommend that, after ending a meeting, if a host wants to meet with a new group of people, that they create a new meeting. This can help prevent previous participants from joining.

8. Staff wishing to invite external peers to Meets for collaboration will need to accept them into the Meet as they join but should be aware that they can re-join after this initial acceptance. If the attendee has a Google account and has been invited directly though Calendar rather than just having the link, they may be able to join automatically depending on how the moderation tools, including quick access settings, are used by the host.

9. Staff may wish to record Meets using the option available through the settings when a Meet has begun. This is a temporary service made available by Google. This can be used to share Meets with anyone unable to attend, reuse lessons or to refer back to if required. This service will be replaced with temporary recordings that expire after 30 days but Google have not announced a date for this change.

10. If staff members decide to record Meets, they should ensure that they have all attendees permission to do so. Further to this, they should be aware that, if a learner is sharing video, then they would appear on the recording depending on the view selected by the staff member doing the recording. The recording and sharing of videos should be discussed with local security and safeguarding officers.