Author: Dawn Adams

Coming Soon – Stream

Update: Rollout is now complete and uploads will be enabled from 24th February, with O365 Video being retired from 25th February. Please see Uploads in Stream and O365 Video Retiral for more information.

Stream is part of O365 which allows storage and creation of video content.  During February Stream will be rolling out to users.  The rollout is phased, and not all users will immediately see Stream.

Whilst the rollout is happening Stream will be read only.  You will not be able to upload content into Stream.  This will allow you to become familiar with the product and for all users to be licensed.

Once the rollout is complete video uploads will be enabled for staff only.  We will announce the date for this towards the end of February.

Important: Staff should ensure they’ve read the guidance on Stream (Stream – Glow Connect).

Microsoft will be retiring O365 Video as of 1st March.  All content in O365 Video will be migrated to Stream, and existing links will redirect to Stream until March 2022.

When the migration completes at the end of February there will be a final sync between O365 Video and Stream and there may be some discrepancies whilst this process finalises.  O365 Video content will not be visible in Stream until the migration is finalised.

You may wish to take this opportunity to review what content you have in O365 Video and delete any old content and to review the permissions set.

Breakout Rooms

Microsoft have released breakout room functionality within Teams Meetings.  This allows meeting organisers to create breakout rooms, and allocate meeting participants for small group working within the main meeting.

Glow’s guidance (https://glowconnect.org.uk/teams-in-glow/teams-meetings-with-learners/) is that for learner safety we recommend that additional staff members are present within meetings and that learners should not be unsupervised within Teams meetings.  The introduction of breakout rooms makes this more challenging to achieve, and there is the increased risk of learners being unsupervised with video enabled within breakout rooms.  On that basis we strongly recommend that breakout rooms are not used with learners unless staff members are able to be constantly present in all breakout rooms created.

The existing guidance (https://glowconnect.org.uk/teams-in-glow/managing-a-teams-meeting/) is also that the end meeting option should be used by the meeting organiser to remove all participants at the end of a Teams meeting.  Please note that this will not end any associated breakout rooms.  The separate ‘close rooms’ option within the Breakout room control panel must be used to close the rooms, and remove participants from the breakout rooms before ending the main meeting.

We need to talk to teachers and families with school age children about getting help with Glow!

We need to talk to 8 –12 teachers, and 8 –12 families with school age children from 23rd November until mid-December 2020. The session will be by phone or video call. It will last for no more than one hour. Teachers and families can choose a day and time that suits them.

We will give a £20 Amazon eGift card as a thank you to each teacher and family that takes part.

You do not have to be a Glow user to take part.

  • Calls with teachers will take place in their own time outside of working hours.
  • A parent or carer must apply and must be there during a call with children.

This is for a study about getting information, help, and support, for Glow. It  will help us design better support services for Glow. It is for a project on The Digital Learning and Teaching programme at Education Scotland.

Teachers: apply here

Parents or carers: apply here

Further Information

Teams Meetings – Only Me Lobby

Do you organise Teams Meetings to support learning with pupils or work with other staff? Here are some useful updates that will help you manage access to your meetings.

The Only Me lobby control is now available from Meeting options. This will help you manage access to your meetings by holding participants in a lobby ready for you as a meeting organiser to admit them. It will also help if you need to remove someone from the meeting as they cannot re-enter without being admitted again.

From 26th November the Only Me lobby control will be the default option when creating new Microsoft Teams meetings and will also be applied to all existing meetings already set up in Glow. Please note that this will mean these meetings can only be started by the meeting organiser and all participants will be held in a lobby.

It is possible to change the lobby options in advance of and during a meeting but remember there are a few things to consider before doing this. This could be used if you are unable to attend a meeting you’ve already organised or if you are having a meeting with a large number of staff but no pupils.  Find out how to access and change the lobby settings: Teams Meetings Options

Get more help on managing meetings using the Only Me lobby: Managing a Teams Meeting